Before and Now

While growing up, I’ve learned a lot about what it meant to be a Christian (and still am). Often, it’s through trial and error. And even more often, I think I’m doing everything alright, only to find out I’m completely looking at it all in the wrong way. I’m in no way a “perfect Christian” (whatever that is), and I still don’t think I have it all figured out today, and I don’t think I ever will. But let me tell you, through the grace of God, I’ve been able to learn a lot more on what it really means to be a Christian and know God.

Before, I used to have a bible verse in my bio because that’s “what Christians would do”. I now have a specific verse because that’s what I read when I was lost and hurting. That verse got me through a hard time of tears, fear, hopelessness. That verse speaks to me and heals my heart’s worries. When I used to sing along to worship songs it was because it was a pretty song and that’s just what you do. Now I sing because in that moment, I give up all my worries and lay it in God’s arms, I focus on him, & I worship Him because He’s worthy. Growing up I was afraid to tell people about Jesus, but now I look forward to opportunities where I am able to tell them of His love. Because I know that love, and it’s the reason I’m alive today. I’ve felt the pain, the loneliness, and the absent of hope that many others in the world are holding onto. And I want to show them true hope and true love. I used to think there was bad and good people, but now I see there’s only humans. Many of these humans have been hurt & have had made mistakes, but those don’t define them. They are so worthy of love. And they need to know this. A few years ago, I would think there was all these rules and laws because God wanted life to be boring, that they were too high to attain, that sin was just a way to make people feel bad about themselves & not good enough. And now, I see He has these things in place to keep me safe and free from hurtful consequences, and wants me to find joy and contentment in things that last, and things I am able to put my trust and hope in. And while I may not be perfect, and I still mess up lots, with His power, love, and sacrifice, I am able to be stronger and be free from my temptations & mistakes that I couldn’t rise above on my own before. Before I would do everything on my own, and worry about so many different things, while I said with my lips that I trusted Him. Now, I have to daily die to myself, my will, & my worries, so that I can rely on Him. I know so many things are out of my control, I know He cares, and has a plan. I used to say I knew Jesus loved me. While inside, I was struggling with self hate, no sense of purpose, and suicidal thoughts. Now, I feel His love, I KNOW His love. Before, being a Christian meant being a fan of God. Now, it’s being a friend of His.

It’s crazy to think how I had it so wrong. And a lot of times, I still do. Being a Christian and knowing God can be so different. A title is not a relationship. Knowing his law, but not his love is no way to live. I am beyond thankful God has shown me His love, and His authenticity throughout the years. Some days I’m a sucky friend, I forgot to talk to him, I don’t listen to what He says, and I completely spit in His face within my heart. I mess up big time. That’s why being a Christian should not be something to make you look good, but to make God look good. We didn’t do anything to save ourselves. He did and still does. It’s all in the grace and power of God. The real definition of a Christian is a broken person in need of a perfect Savior.

If you’re reading this and you’re a Christian or a believer and know God’s love, that’s amazing. Keep going and keep seeking his face. Maybe you’re not where you want to be. Maybe you struggle with such pain inside you, such a void. And maybe on top of all of that pain, you struggle with certain temptations. I get you. I’ve been there, and I still am there. While I can say I’m there struggling, I can look back and 100% say I’ve changed and grown, all because of the grace and power of Jesus. It’s a journey. Rely on Him, my friend. It’s not in your own strength. And God is not ashamed of you or mad at you. You are His child. Let Him love on you, help you, challenge you, grow you, and shape you.

And if you’re someone who may not believe, and have only seen the hatred & judgement that many Christians spew. And maybe you believe God is imaginary, or there’s a god out there that’s not Him, or that He’s someone full of hate. I want to let you know, there is a God and His name is Jesus. He isn’t someone who notices sin first, and you second. He looks at your heart. He sees your pain. He understands you’re tying to find your way. But He wants to help you do that. He loves you so much. He wants you to feel this love, this agape love, unconditional love. Not the conditional, fleeting, hurtful love that you’ve experienced in this world. He wants you to know your purpose, that you’re not here for a simple mistake caused by space matter colliding. I pray that you experience his real, solid, overwhelming, more than enough love that He gives. I hope you start to see His hand in your life. Look to the life of Jesus, realize He was a REAL man, and that he only preached love, not religion. Run to God, not away from Him. Talk to Him. He will rescue you, show you His love, and change your life from the inside out. “I sought the Lord, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears. Those who look to him are radiant; their faces are never covered with shame.” Psalm 34:4-5.

If you’ve made it this far into this post: first of all, wow. Second, of all, thank you so much. I want you to know once again, I am here for you. To listen, to comfort, & to be your friend. If you need someone to talk to, message me & get in contact with me! And as always, remember you are loved.

Lots of love,

Glori

Author: lifeisgloriousblog

Hi, my name is Glori. I am seventeen years old. I love Jesus, my family, my friends, and my life! My life, as everyone else’s, is not all peachy-keen. That’s not why I made this blog. I am not here to act like I have it all together. My life’s a mess, I’m a mess, I’ve been through a whole bunch of messy messes. But there’s good news, there’s the grace of God that keeps me going & lessons I’ve learned along the way that made me stronger & into the person I am today. I am not perfect, my life is not perfect, but I am blessed, and because of that, I am thankful. My goal here for this blog is not to condemn, not to act better than anyone, and not to broadcast that I know everything. I am here to love, to grow, and to help others grow alongside me. I hope this blog is able to help you with something you may be dealing with. And just so you know: if you need someone to talk to, to vent to, to pray for you – I’m here. You are loved.

7 thoughts on “Before and Now”

  1. I’ve always struggled with trying to be a good Christian. Ever since my mom passed at a young age I’ve just been trying to figure out what went wrong, and I’m still struggling with it thirty years later. But I just have to trust that the lord will always be with me, and I am very thankful for that <3.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Judith! First of all, I am so sorry about your loss. *hugs* I’ve experienced loss in my lifetime as well, and I know how hard it is. It’s terrifying, painful, and we miss our loved one in our life so much. I just want to encourage you that God is taking care of your mother and you will see her again. The Bible is full of so many promises about heaven. And we have to trust that He is in control and He knows what He is doing! I know how much it hurts and how confusing it can be, but trust in His promises that “All things work out for good for those who love Him” ❤️ (Romans 8:28). And another amazing verse that hits on the topic of being “a good Christian” is Ephesians 2:8. It states that “For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God.” We have been redeemed, saved, and continue to be saved & protected in his love & grace everyday by Jesus and His sacrifice!! Nothing we can do can separate us from His love, or even earn His love. Christ loved you before you were even born. He knows we all mess up, and He knows we’re not perfect. That’s why there’s grace. Underserved, but freely given favor & love from God. I pray that you are able to live in that grace tonight & continue to. Much love ❤️

      Like

  2. Hi Glori, reading your post brought a lot of smiles on my face. The fact that there are still souls that pants and desires the Lord in our fallen word is amazing and soul lifting. I have been through a lot myself, am still struggling but am not in control anymore. I handed over to Jesus and it’s been about him ever since. Although sometimes I forget and worry but somewhere in subconscious mind songs begin to play in my head and before I know it I begin to sing and the moment I start to sing, He begins to reveal things and what I should do. Naturally, I would never be able to think straight because of worrying. Thankfully my spirit man is beginning to trust more on the Lord. Lifted out the ashes, He still loves and prefers me. He is my hope now and I depend on Him.
    Thank you very much for sharing with us. I am truly humbled to have you visit my blog. God bless you and more grace.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank you so much! I am so honored to have been an encouragement to you, as you have been to me! That is so, so beautiful and so true!! I agree with you, I too am stubborn to God’s call and voice too often. But I am so thankful that He pursues us and stills our hearts. Its been a journey, and still continues, but with the grace of God, we grow more in his spirit and love. It really is beautiful! I am so happy to hear that God is working so much in your life and I pray He continues to! ❤️ Your blog is a beautiful one. Thank you so much for the kind words. God bless you & grace to you as well ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Glori!!
    Just a friendly hello from up in Pennsylvania. I just want to tell you how much reading these helps me. I’ve never actually been religious but this has made me feel closer to God. I’m currently on this crazy journey to find who I am, spirtually, physically, emotionally and every other …..ally there is. So I just want to thank you! You have always been a motivation and such a stronghold to me. ❤

    Keep doing you, girl!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my goodness! Skylar! You hold such a dear place in my heart 💖 I am so so honored and happy to hear that!! That is so beautiful, and I know if you continue to be open and continue to seek God’a true character of love mercy and grace, He will work in your life and show you His love in more ways than you can ever imagine! I am so proud of you. You have always been such a sweet, loving, and hilarious girl, and I can’t wait to hear about/see all your growth & beauty in the future. Thank you so much for the kind words. It means more than you know. Love & miss you lots! ❤️❤️❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

